What I want from 2017

despite being 5 months in…20170409_215709

I stand in my living room as I watch the ball drop, I scream “Happy New Year!” and begin to hug my family members. We’re smiling because we have made it, another year with each other. Another year to enjoy life, another year to make mistakes, another year to grow. Another year to make a change.

I’ve never believed in making new years resolutions, mostly because I know I won’t stick to them. Resolutions to me are just things you tell yourself to make it seem like this year will be better than the last. But will I hold myself to it by next month? Probably not. I do want to have a better year than the last, but I know I have to do more than telling myself what I will do to make it better. 

How is this year different from the last? 

I ask myself this and I realize it isn’t much different but the person I will be this year can be. Even though I did not decide this change January 1st, doesn’t mean I cannot start now. This year 2017 and for the rest of my life, I want to all my effort toward things that make me happy. Things that make me proud of myself. Things that make my family proud.

17855207_1272582962797124_7269863806350530099_o

As I learn and grow this year, here is what I want for myself in 2017

1. Take care of my body- mentally and physically 

Not only vowing to work out every day because 9 times out of 10 I won’t, but telling myself that I need to often. Besides that reminding myself to worry less. This is my year to be carefree and focused on my goals with MINIMUM STRESS. I want happiness for myself and for the people I love.

2. Start a blog!

I’ve always wanted a blog and dream of writing for a magazine one day. But how could I reach this goal without working for it? It’s obvious, I would not reach that goal. I started this blog about 4 months later than what I planned to. Why? Because I’m afraid. Afraid of people not liking what I write, not becoming something big. I had to realize that if I want something I have to do it for me, not anyone else. Will I become something bigger? I don’t know, but I will never know if I don’t step out of my comfort zone and try!!!

3. Work on social media, modeling, and photography

Since I was 4, I have wanted to model, but obviously, I didn’t know what to do and social media was not around yet. Now that I have the tools, I want to push myself out there to become something my younger self always wanted to be. Now I use my social media for not only personal use but for what I want to do in my future. Overall, I want to use my creative ideas and allow others to see what I think of. I figured it’s no point of having all these ideas and not doing anything with them.

4. Shape me & my future 

In the end, this year I want to pave the way for my future. It’s time for me to get motivated and work for what I want! I’ll never get what I want in the future sitting on my couch dreaming and talking about what I want. This is the year I turn my words into actions. 

20170409_201512

These changes for myself will not happen overnight and they won’t be easy. But if you want something, you have to push yourself and continue to work for it EVERY DAY.

Moral of this story is:

Stepping out of your comfort zone is hard and takes time. Regardless, of the amount of time, it takes start now! Don’t worry about the people who will want to bring you down or refuse to support you. Worry about yourself and do what you want to do. Even if it does not turn out exactly how you want, something good could come in the end. You will never know this if you don’t start now! 

I challenge you to write 4 things you want from 2017 for yourself and do it! 

leave your four in the comments below, and don’t forget to leave feedback or suggestions! 💜

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Great photography! Good luck with your goals. Just stumbled upon your blog today and I’m in love. Liked and subscribed.
Check out my blog sometime? https://noirerewritten.com
    Have a good day!
    Mena 🌷

    Liked by 1 person

    1. parisatavia says:

      Thanks so much! ❤️

      Like

  2. Crystal Diete-Spiff says:

    Hey Paris👋🏾 I’m so happy and excited for you pursuing your dreams. I wish you the best of luck girl! 🤗 You are going to do some amazing things. For your first blog, I feel like it’s a pretty fun read, yet straight to the point (not a bad thing) and the photography is awesome. The set up of your blog is also very subtle and not in your face. I can tell you’re really passionate about what you want to do. It definitely makes me look forward to what you talk about next. Are you going to Vlog as well?
    •4 things I want from ’17: 1. Crush second year of college. 2. Healthier lifestyle. 3. Focus on me and bettering myself. 4. Embrace my being African American more.
    Good luck Par! 😁❤️
    -Crystal

    Like

    1. parisatavia says:

      Thank you so much! I’m going to vlog my trip to Mexico next month, if it turns out well maybe I’ll do more! Good luck in 2017 ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Tamia says:

    AHHH PARIS! Omg I remember you girl, we used to go to the same high school remember me lol! This looks rly good so proud of u.
    Keep up the good work

    Like

    1. parisatavia says:

      you’re so silly omg! thank you ❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

